The pen and the next generation

Recently I stumbled upon a problem when writing my first draft, I found myself struggling to write electronically. Now I work with tech all day long and I’m pretty fast when it comes to typing but ask me to creative write electronically and a big slab of writers block slaps me in the face.

So I’m writing by hand and it hurts. It’s been years since I’ve written anything substantial by hand. At this point I begin thinking what will happen to the pen in the next generation?

Back in school and college we had to write everything by hand so at least I have experience to fall back on but this modern day generation does everything electronically. So what does that mean for them? There will always be moments when you are forced to write by hand and I already witness far too many people stare blankly at their pen and struggle to jot anything down. That’s the generation who grew up with pen in hand.

So will the pen die out our will it stick around?

Leave a Reply

